JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 870

Caraga held awarding ceremony to recognize the 2012 Outstanding municipality, city and province in the regionFebruary 14, 2014, National Nutrition Council-Caraga held a special regional nutrition awarding ceremony to recognize the 2012 Outstanding municipality, city and province in the region at Goat 2Geder Hotel and Restaurant, Butuan City. The event gave an opportunity to thank the Local Chief Executives, Provincial, City and Municipal Nutrition Action Officers (P/C/MNAOs) , District and City Nutrition Program Coordinators (D/CNPCs), and Barangay Nutrition Scholars (BNSs) who have supported the local nutrition program through the years.

The province of Agusan del Sur is the Provincial Nutrition Green Banner awardee. SB on Health Dr. Susan Gerona accepted the award on behalf of Governor Adolph Edward G. Plaza. Dr . Gerona stressed the support of the local government to the nutrition program specifically on the budget allotted to nutrition. She also emphasized the innovations that Agusan del Sur have implemented on the nutrition program such as establishment of community garden for families with malnourished children and pooling of lecturers who will discuss and advocate about the local nutrition programs.

Socorro, Surigao del Norte is the 2012 outstanding municipality in the region. Surigao del Norte Provincial Nutrition Action Officer Mr. Antonio L. Tiu accepted the plaque in behalf of Mayor Denia T. Florano. Mr. Tiu recalled the first years when they first advocated about the nutrition program and nobody seemed to be concerned, up to the last few years when Socorro came out as the leading municipality in the nutrition program.

Bislig City is the 2012 City Green Banner Awardee. Bislig City also received the Consistent Regional Outstanding Winner in Nutrition (CROWN) award during the National Nutrition Awarding Ceremony in Manila last October 2013. Councilor Pedrito R. Sulapas accepted the plaque and green banner for Mayor Librado Navarro. Councilor Sulapas proudly narrated the innovations that the city has implemented such as the summer Nutri Skwela for children 5-10 years old and the Nutri-Give.

The other awards were given to the Municipal Green Banner awardees such as Las Nieves (Agusan del Norte), San Francisco (Agusan del Sur), Socorro (Surigao del Norte and Lanuza (Surigao del Sur).

The Regional Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholar is Ms. Hilda B. Guiba from Tubay, Agusan del Norte. Ms. Guiba received a plaque and cash award of P20,000. The provincial and city outstanding barangay nutrition scholars also received certificates of recognition and cash awards. They were Mr. Lester E. Maturan (Socorro, Surigao del Norte), Ms. Salvacion Montenegro (Lanuza, Surigao del Sur), Ms. Oshi Cuaresma (San Francisco, Agusan del Sur), Ms. Alma Deiparine (Butuan City), Ms. Arsenia Abala (Bayugan City), Ms.Rufina Dizon (Surigao City), Ms. Liza Taglucop (Cabadbaran City) and Ms. Enrieta Abao (Tandag City).

Aside from the regional winners, National Nutrition Council-Caraga also gave plaques and certificates of recognition to the local nutrition workers of the provinces and cities who have made it possible for the downward trend of malnutrition in Caraga over the past five years.